Babies

About 10 months ago, an old college friend asked me to draw her nephew. This was the end result:10682388_520081434761357_97317139106459752_o

Recently she asked me to draw hebaby3r niece. I started out taking my time, doing a bit every day for two weeks- and came up with a really awful looking drawing. So two days before I’d promised to have it done, I started over.

I went at it a bit obsessively…My computer is now full of different versions of the same drawing (at different stages in progression) that only look different if you rebeiially stare. (And sometimes not even then, but I saved them separately, so I must have thought something was different.)

I also got bored and tried some in grayscale, with differing contrast.
bwbadarbwba

In the end, I zoomed in a little, and ended up putting less detail on the face.

Honestly, I can’t remember if that was a conscious decision, or if I made a layer of shadow less opaque in order to work on something near it and forgot to restore it.

At one point, my husband did say the shadows made the baby look weirdly old, so I did try to lessen some of them. Looking at some of the in progress shots, though, I think I should have kept with the more detailed version.

Since I had already delivered the file to the buyer, though, and she likes the product she got, I decided to be happy with what I delivered.

finished3

Leave a comment